🎙️ Inside Scoop with Sniper #2

Season 2, Episode 17 RECAP!

Welcome to the latest edition of Inside Scoop with Sniper, your go-to source for a quick and digestible rundown of what's happening on the "Sit Down with Sniper" podcast. Stay up-to-date with our engaging conversations and get an inside look at our unique "5 Questions" segment that highlights the diverse perspectives of our guests.


🔊 Previous Episode Recap

In our last episode, we had the pleasure of hosting Trizton, another guest that is not only a great friend but someone I feel is a true artist that’s not talked about enough in this space. Throughout the conversation we dived into the history of Trizton, discussing topics such as his origin, his art, and so much more.

In the start I always like to ask about how the guest got into art and what their journey has been like. Trizton gave us a look at a very early memory for when art started for him. He said,

“I think it started when I was probably like four or five. My mom would get me coloring books and I would draw them with, she's basically my sister, Kylie, I've known her since she was born. We would draw in coloring books together when my mom would babysit her.

And so in the beginning, she was really good at staying inside and I would just scribble all over the paper. And I used to always feel some type of way because it was like, dang, she stayed inside the lines. She would tell me, she'd be like, '“I can stay inside the lines”, And that kind of put a little fire in my heart about it. Then fast forward a couple years, my grandma had stencils, like little dinosaur stencils that I could just trace and make dinosaurs. I would play with those.”

So from the very start of the conversation I could tell that Trizton had a lot to say and from his story, art was going to be something he would pursue going forward. He would continue to inform us about the years after that and how he would continue to draw at older ages. He wouldn’t actually make a piece though until around his senior year where there was another artist that he admired because of her skills (Shoutout Caitlin). She would see his doodles and compliment them, making him realize this could be something here.

I would continue to learn more about Trizton as the episode would go on. He would touch on topics like how he entered the Web3/NFT space and we would go in depth about the art he creates and what it means to him. While talking about his art there’s a couple things he said and that I learned while listening.

I asked him if he could describe his paintings, Trizton said,

“I would say that I'm like an abstract surrealist painter. It's either abstract surrealism or abstract expressionism. I sort of teeter totter between both of those. I definitely rely heavily on abstraction, but sometimes it's more surreal and more of like an image and then other times it's more impressionist where I'm just like I'm really playing with the shapes and the motion of it and I think you can probably make those distinctions yourself. And then I usually just fall back on the term illustrator when it comes to like my ink drawings. I have a pretty specific style like I use heavy black line work and heavy black - Overall, I would just call myself an experimentalist. I love to play. I try to not be so serious and I try to not be so calculated about my creations because maintaining my childhood wonder is my top priority.”

I found that every time I was getting an answer there was so much substance to it. I could really tell that Trizton felt strongly about his art and that he wanted people to really understand what he puts into it. I also asked about specific pieces and when doing so, he said that his favorite piece of the few mentioned was “Rage” and this is what he had to say about the piece:

“I mean, for many reasons, it's just like crazy for me to look at. Like it's one of those things that I made and I look at it and I can't believe that I made it. It's so me and it's very much my style, but it's like, dang, like I never really made anything like that. Like the dog and the double dog and the man in the background, like just the way that together was so crazy and the fact that like I flirted with painting over the entire thing so many times and just completely destroying it so many times. The double dog head was the beginning of the piece and it was there from the beginning and that sort of just came out.”

And this was just the start of his description. He would go on a little more about what this piece meant to him and why he felt so strongly. You can feel it throughout the entire conversation honestly. I really enjoy getting to ask artist questions like this cause I feel there are so many creations that have stories to them that just need to be told.

Trizton absolutely destroyed this episode and there’s so much more to listen to over the hour long convo. I tried to sum up some very important moments and help summarize the podcast a little for those that don’t have the time to listen. I highly encourage anyone reading this though to go check out the guest this week and you won’t be disappointed.

We’re extremely grateful for Trizton coming by and wishing him the best in 2023 and beyond! Be sure to check out the entire episode on all streaming platforms

đź’ˇ 5 Questions Highlight

As always, we asked our guest the same set of "5 Questions" that we ask every week. It's very interesting to see how each guest's unique perspective leads to different answers, even when faced with the same questions. Here's a glimpse of Reddy's responses:

  1. What is your goal in 2023?:
    “Change the fucking world”

  2. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be?: 
    “If I could live anywhere, it would just be somewhere like magic, somewhere where just like the streets breathe fucking the human experience, just like somewhere that's just like raw and real. I don't necessarily have a place in mind, but just like somewhere that has deep cultural history. Maybe, I don't know, places of that nature, places that have roots in ancient history. Yeah, I like places like Italy, places like Egypt fascinate me, places like Greece fascinate me. Yeah, so I would say somewhere that just has some really massive history in it.”

  3. What is your biggest pet peeve?: 
    “I think I touched on this before a little bit, but I am a person who loves to think and values thought. And I just get so frustrated when I see people be like, “oh, I don't want to overthink it..” Or they talk about their thoughts, like, “oh, I don't want to go to bed at the end of the day and just be stuck with my mind”. When people fear their own mind, it's like, I just want to like give them my thoughts a hug and be like, yo, like that your mind, it's the most powerful thing. It's nothing to be afraid of.”

  4. What do people misunderstand about you most?: 
    “I think everything. Honestly, I'm not an outspoken person. And because of that, it leaves everything that I do and say up to interpretation, where it's like, I'm really not out here tweeting like that. I'm really not out here, you know, posting think pieces. I'm really not out here explaining my artwork that much. The only opportunities people have to know me are conversations like this and individual conversations between each other. And so I think that honestly, everything is misunderstood until context is provided. ”

  5. If you won $10 million tomorrow, what would you spend it on?: 
    “Okay, I first, a tax person, and then a financial advisor. Those are the first two purchases I'm making. We're building a team because I will immediately fuck that money up. I have a lot of big ideas and a lot of things that I want to accomplish, but I also just have like a, I'm very manic, like I've said before, so it's like I'm immediately like I'm picturing like a $1.5 million home that I've like looked at for months and I just like imagine myself living in that and I think about like a Porsche Taycan, which is like a sweet four-door Porsche, things like that, pump the brakes and realize I could turn that amount of money into something that will just totally change the course of history forever if I'm smart about it. And so if I just pump the brakes, financial advisor, tax advisor, then I can stop and think about projects. I would make a video game. - Film, video games, books, things of that nature, just no way I'm gonna sit with 10 million dollars and not try to fight the poverty going on, at least in my city. Like, there's 20,000 homeless people and 20,000 vacant apartments. Make it make sense, you know what I mean? So like, these are things that I'm thinking about also, and like the development of my city, so if I could have a hand in that as well, hell yeah.”

📢 Next Week's Guest Announcement

We're excited to announce that our next guest recap of "Sit Down with Sniper" will be Moody Marv, another artist that’s a great friend and super talented with their craft. Be sure to tune in for another great conversation to learn about their history and discover their unique responses to our "5 Questions" segment.

Also below you can find the social accounts for not only the upcoming guest but two prior guest as well.